That dreadful limbo

Standard

For the first time in a long time, I may actually have a shot at a job. I’m not going to know until probably Thursday, two days from now. My mind goes on and on about how the interview went, did I say too much? did I say too little? I was basically honest about myself, and let the chips fall where they may. This has served me well in the past. If things don’t pan out, I will see if another job (a much dicier one) will work out for me, that is if they are still interested in hiring me. Today I got a taste of how difficult things can get for someone 57, soon to be 58. I refilled a prescription for Simvastatin, which I take to lower cholesterol, and it was $66. (ouch!). I wasn’t able to get online for two days, turns out my modem wasn’t working, I got a new one for $62 (ouch again!). I can barely afford to spend this money. Even if I do get the job I desire, it is only for 30 hrs a week. I would need to find a way to supplement it. I have been in this limbo for over two years now, the semester is over at the City College and I’m not certain I can afford to enroll in another semester for the fall. There is so much uncertainty. There is also the stress of returning to work after being unemployed a long time, being used to having so much free time. Once I’m working again, the time will fly by with little to show except a paycheck, or so it seems. I know my situation is shared by many, many people. I’m hanging in there. Are you? You never know what is around the corner, I didn’t expect to get an email about arranging an interview. I was at my wit’s end. Hopefully I will get this job. If not…I’ll cross that bridge when it comes.

Leave a Reply

