Woman of Light

Standard

I’m inspired to write a review of David Lynch’s latest album, Crazy Clown Time. I have been a fan of David Lynch since Twin Peaks. Actually, I remember loving Blue Velvet before that. In any case, I believe David Lynch explores the human subconscious and superconscious  in a unique and exciting way. Since I am in the process of getting my novel ready, which has metaphysical themes throughout, I definitely saw some parallels. David has explored the mystical aspect of the feminine in pretty much all his work. This latest effort continues to portray the search for the divine feminine, as an Angel, or simply a being of light. He explores the dark, dank, and cripplingly simple minded world of what is perhaps a serial killer in this album. David actually sings in a sort of demented way, which I think should be understood as a character. He is the crazy clown of the title, (which reminds you of John Wayne Gacy, the serial killer who liked to dress up as a clown to entertain children).  This character’s psyche is not that far removed from most male psyches in the teenage years, except this is more extreme to better drive home the points he’s making. His deep longing for love and sex and some kind of meaning leads finally, in the final song, She Rises Up, with an epiphany. The woman he had been stalking on a dark, lightning filled night (the lightning perhaps representing the kundilini sexual energy which is sometimes referred to as being like a lightning bolt shooting up the spine and out the top of the head. There were some similar imagery in Twin Peaks). Anyhow the woman he had been stalking transforms into a being of light and rises up. Perhaps an angel or Goddess? You could probably write a term paper on the content of this album, but a lot of people are just going to be put off by the weird singing and strange lyrics. But not me, just like with his films, it encourages me to dig deeper. So I strongly recommend this album for Lynch fans and anyone who wants to get lost in an hypnotic landscape lying deep within a disturbed psyche. (not Lynch’s, the character’s). It also serves as a kind of soundtrack for my novel, which I will finish!!! Finally, I was struck by the similarity between Lynch’s album and an album I had of Pere Ubu named Why I Hate Women. (talk about horrible marketing! It’s like Pere Ubu is saying “buy this, if you dare”) I Love Women, but when I see something like that it intrigues me just because it is purposely repellant. Also I know Pere Ubu’s work, and recognize the satire. Tell me what you think. I am including two of Lynch’s songs, Good Day Today, which shows a strong Moby influence (they have been working together, Moby may even be on this song). and She Rises Up, I also include Pere Ubu’s Synth Farm and Babylonian Warehouses from the above album. I think you will see the Pere Ubu influence. They are traipsing around in the same bardo. Pretty scary, but also transformational place. However, one significant difference between Pere Ubu and Lynch would be David Lynch’s love of that particular guitar sound of the late fifties and early sixties, a kind of Link Wray, Dwayne Eddy hybrid which is used to great effect. The music is awesome, it’s just Lynch’s voice that some people might find hard to get used to.

Once again, sports fans, tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

