The Specter of Santorum

Standard

“Court Says Prop 8 is Unconstitutional”  was on the front page of the SF Chronicle this morning. This strikes a blow for common sense marriage laws! Gay marriage should be a right. Those who oppose it should understand that gay marriage doesn’t not threaten in any way traditional marriage. How could it? Heterosexual marriages will continue. The fact that gay marriage is an option in California doesn’t mean that heterosexuals will suddenly decide to be homosexual. That is absurd. Opposition to gay marriage is simply a bunch of religious zealots poking their nose into other people’s affairs. It is none of their business!! However, as good as this news is, it is tempered by another news story. Rick Santorum won three caucuses, in Minnesota, Colorado, and an unbinding caucus in Missouri. Rick Santorum is one of those religious zealots I mentioned earlier. He is a fanatic of the worst sort. Obama supporters should not reassure themselves that a nomination of Santorum would mean a certain victory for Obama. Fanatics like Rick Santorum have been elected before. He could galvanize the conservative voters, and all the hateful people who would turn this country into a theocracy of evangelical Christianity. I don’t believe their strength should be underestimated. I grew up in Missouri and  I know how backward many Midwesterners  can be. It is scary!! The danger is very real. Romney does not excite Republicans. He wins by default, because the other candidates are lame. Except that now conservative evangelicals appear to be gathering in favor of Santorum. Those of us who support gay marriage and an end to the gross inequality of our economy need to back Obama. We cannot afford to be apathetic. We should put our criticisms of Obama aside for now, because a Republican victory would be a setback for our country.  Even though Prop 8 has been struck down, the battle is by no means over. Gay rights will continue to be fought by people like Rick Santorum.

Beware the specter of Santorum

 

3 responses »

  1. Russell,
    I need to ask this question … What makes Missourians backwards? Just because people may not agree with your views on issues, does not mean they are backwards. I was just curious. thanks for reading my reply. Thank you for your blog as well. I hope you are able to find work and will not be evicted.

    • I’m sorry to paint all Missourians with the same brush. But the Missourians I am talking about are not content to just have an opposing viewpoint, they want to force their Christian fundamentalism on everyone else. I grew up surrounded by the most appalling racism and homophobism. My parents were racist. I consider that very backward. It is uneducated and dangerous. I don’t consider all Missourians to be backward by any means. But I am talking about the ultra conservative religious zealots. I have no problem with them expressing their views, but they want to perpetuate discrimination against gays. I despise so-called Christians, that spew hatred at every opportunity. If this offends you, I’m sorry. But please don’t patronize me by saying that you hope i don’t get evicted. You have no right to look down your nose at me. I hope you face the same circumstances at some point in your life, then you might know how it feels. Finally, since I was born and raised in Missouri and experienced the prejudice first hand, I know what I’m saying.

  2. Russell,
    I am so sorry if you saw it as my looking my nose down at you. It was not meant that way. I was serious when I said that. Please accept my apology.

    ~Gayla

Leave a Reply

