Operation Successful (slow recovery mode)

Standard

9:23 pm Thursday April 19 I don't need glasses, but everything is blurry because my eye was dilated earlier.

So the operation was a success. It didn’t hurt at all. I was awake and alert the whole time, and it was quite a colorful light show. I started hurting later as I lay on my bed listening to music. My vision is really blurry right now, so I will undoubtedly need to edit this tomorrow. I probably have a few typos. My eye was dilated earlier today and the retina looks fine. My vision has been restored. Of course, right now it isn’t restored, but before the dilation, I could see in the distance pretty darn well. It was like when you make the transition from regular tv to HD tv. I was overwhelmed by the detail. I will be more excited when I get through the recovery period unscathed. I still need to take it easy, because my eye has not fully healed. It still feels weird, as though it has rocks in it at times.It really felt that way yesterday. Like I had been in a sandstorm. I need to make sure not to overdo it, and take things slow these next few days. I should return to work Tuesday. This is just a short post to let everyone know that I am ok, and the cataract  surgery went well. I will write a lot more tomorrow when I can actually see.

2 responses »

  1. I really liked reading this. First and foremost because I’ve been thinking about you and waiting for your update. But also the way you described the procedure almost gives me hope that in the future, I could do it, too, maybe. Looking good, Russell! Hope you wake up completely healed and ready to take on the world!

    • I woke up this morning and my eye was stuck together! Yikes! But I got it unstucked and it is all fine now. I have to use reading glasses for close up, like right now. Otherwise I don’t need them, which is weird. Thanks for your support!! It was crazy writing that post because my vision was blurry and I couldn’t see what I was typing.

Leave a Reply

