A Distant Shore

Standard

I stand upon a distant shore

too far away to see my face clearly

I gaze lovingly upon myself

sitting on a bench looking frightened

legs pressed together and looking very old and frail

Don’t worry so much I say to myself

you are not this thing which tires too soon

when I want to go out and play

I am here where no wind blows

and nothing can ever hurt me

a distant shore

far away, where all day long is play

never changing

always welcoming

more real than anything

I can feel it behind the pain

the doubt and the despair

I am there

Leave a Reply

