I once knew a man

Standard

I once knew a man

who dabbled in the occult

he stepped on a wire

and died in a fire

I once knew a man

who would quicken his pace

before another thought could escape

I once knew a man

whose face was a puzzle

his life a disgrace

he woke up one morning

and his body was bleeding

no one to blame

no one to chase

I once knew a man

his name wasn’t Charlie

but it should have been

He would stand beside me for hours

With a goofy smile on his face

I once knew a man

that wrestled and yelled out in pain

as the wind twisted his clothes

and he was pelted without mercy

by the rain

Leave a Reply

